Time for Mommy

To Tan or Not to Tan???

A few months ago (February) I decided it was time to take time to tan. I was excited by the idea that I could stop by a salon (owned by one of my past students!) and tan for a few minutes before picking up Lydia after work. I thought: it will be relaxing, I’ll be ready for spring, and I’ll look so good tan (even fat looks good tan right?). So there I was, at the salon and loving that I was doing a “me time” activity.

Then things started going down hill. It was cold (February) when I got in. I saw that warning sign about how tanning isn’t good for you. Blah blah blah. I still got in. I felt good for a few minutes, but then I could feel my feet tapping and my mind whirling over all of the “activities” I still had to do, and to be honest, I just wasn’t having as much fun as I thought I was going to have. How sad! I can’t even enjoy tanning anymore!

Well, I’ve given it some thought since my three week attempt at tanning. I like the warmth and heat of the sun, and even though Mother Nature hasn’t given us much lately, I’m still going to wait around for her to finally show the sun’s face. When it does, I’ll be out there loving it, but until then, I’ll just have to rock my pasty white skin. ❤

That’s nlotionot entirely true 😉 I have found one secret to beating my white tummy blues, and it’s not too bad really. Jergens Natural Glow tanners do have a slight scent, but it’s actually kind of pretty. After my tanning defeat, I began using the lotion now and then and I’ve been happy with the results. It’s a gradual tanning lotion, so you won’t end up with a big splotch of orange. I am always careful about knees, elbows, ankles and rinsing your fingers (yep … I’ve used sunless tanners before). Keep these things in mind and maybe get a little glow this weekend.

Hopefully we can all get some sun without the lotion this weekend, but just in case. Besides, I’d like that tank that’s been stowed deep within my dresser drawer to “pop” when it finally does warm up around here.

How do you beat the winter white blues?

2 thoughts on “To Tan or Not to Tan???

Leave a Reply

