Food & Drink

Mommy’s Juice Friday! Flirtation & Fuax Wings

We made it to another Friday and in my book that’s pretty good! ❤ I don’t know about you, but this weather has had me feeling low and now I think it’s time to relax with some good old New York Wine. Therefore, it’s Mommy’s Juice Friday and my drink of choice is going to be Three Brother’s Winery: Flirtation.

 

Mommy’s Juice:

Ever since I spotted these bottles in our local liquor store, Commodore Wine & Spirits in Perry, NY, I’ve been in love with the beautiful labels and even happier when I discovered the wine was delicious too! _DSC1398

This wine comes at around 13 to 15 dollars a bottle, which is more expensive than a Barefoot wine, but I like knowing I’m buying wine from a local vineyard. (And their tasting rooms are AMAZING if you ever get a chance to go.) The wine is sweet without being overpowering (although I do like sweet) and it has a bit of an bubbliness that reminds me of a Moscato. This one goes down pretty quickly, so maybe share it with a friend!

 

Mommy’s Snack:

I struggle with my snacking on the weekend. I feel like it’s easier for me to “be good” during the week when I can only eat what I brought for lunch and when I get home there isn’t as much time to snack, but on the weekends I have this unexplained need/want to snack and it often disturbs my plans to be healthy and summer-swim-suit-ready (hah). This weekend I’m going to plan ahead a bit and try a healthier snack. A friend of mine posted a similarly tempting and healthy snack a few weeks ago on FB and here’s a recipe I found and plan to try:

Why not try Cauliflower Hot Wings with Avocado Blue Cheese Dip? I’m definitely going to and the ingredients are on my shopping list! (Recipe courtesy of Well Plated by Erin)

Ingredients:

FOR THE CAULIFLOWER BUFFALO WINGS:

  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour (or swap additional all purpose flour)
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 7 cups cauliflower florets (about 24 ounces)
  • 3/4 cup Buffalo wing sauce (I’m going to use Sweet Baby Ray’s)
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
Shop this!

FOR THE BLUE CHEESE AVOCADO DIP:

  • 1 medium ripe avocado, pitted and diced
  • 1/2 cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2-4 tablespoons crumbled blue cheese, to taste

 

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with foil, then coat with non-stick spray.
In a large bowl, stir together the white whole wheat flour, all purpose flour, and garlic powder. Pour in 1 cup of water, then stir until smooth. Add the cauliflower to the bowl, then toss to coat.
Spread the cauliflower in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet, shaking off any excess batter. Spread the cauliflower out so that the florets do not touch. Bake until lightly browned, 18-20 minutes.
Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, combine the Buffalo sauce and butter over medium low heat. Stir until the butter melts, then set aside.
Once the cauliflower has finished baking, remove it from the oven and pour the buffalo sauce over the top, using the entire saucepan. Toss to coat, using a spatula if the cauliflower is too hot so that you don’t burn your fingers. Return the cauliflower to the oven, then bake for 5 additional minutes, watching carefully so that the sauce does not brown too much on the outside. Serve hot with the Blue Cheese Avocado Dip.

For the Blue Cheese Avocado Dip: mash the avocados in a medium bowl with the Greek yogurt, garlic, lemon juice, and pepper. Add 2 tablespoons blue cheese and stir to incorporate, the taste, adding extra blue cheese as desired. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve. (Recipe courtesy of Well Plated by Erin)

I hope you’ll give one or both a try and then let me know how it went in the comments below! Maybe you want to pair brownies with this wine? I do think chocolate goes nicely with the sweet. Let me know 😉

Leave a Reply

