Thoughts about Lydia · Time for Mommy · Vacation

Recuperating After the Long Weekend

I’m sure that I’m not the only one who is left feeling that they need a weekend after this past weekend. Much laundry went unattended to, the groceries didn’t get purchased, I got less ZZZ’s and my workout “regiment” suffered. But you know what? It’s all totally fine. I loved my weekend with family and friends. I more than enjoyed indulging a bit in cook-out fare, and that glass of wine by the campfire will never cause remorse. I relished almost every moment of the weekend. (I have to admit, sleeping in this heat and with Justin snoring, is not one the things I enjoyed this weekend.) However, every day when I got up and stepped outside, I realized how much fun I was going to have, I realized how lucky I was to be able to enjoy the time with Lydia and Justin … and our dog, Cody. I felt good sitting in the sun, reading a book, sitting in a blow-up pool with Lydia, fishing or just sitting in our camper as it rained outside. Nothing can beat the newly made memories of the weekend except for the desires of doing it again.

20160528_163734

What did I learn from our weekend away? I need my air conditioner! lol. Well, that and that packing and planning are essential, however, you can’t plan for some things, and you can never have enough sunscreen or ice. I also learned that I am going to have to let Lydia for-go her usual sleeping schedule. If we are ever to have peace in the evening, I will just have to let that little girl stay up! Camping isn’t just about Justin and myself anymore, and I don’t think either of us really minded. We enjoyed watching her play and explore. She never tired!

… Well, that is until Monday as we headed home. She rifled through my purse looking for one of her favorite things: chap-stick! Finding it, she then proceeded to make her mouth look like Joker, and then “shared” the chap-stick with Mommy and Daddy. I watched as she kept trying to put her chap-stick on, until dazed and exhausted, her head tilted and her eyes closed in sleep (you know … about five minutes away from the house).

I carried her in and she woke up. We spent time getting laundry started, garbage out, and bath time for my tuckered beauty. By the time she’d eaten dinner, watched babies on YoutTube, and had her evening stories read, she was one happy and sleepy little girl.

Shop Me

Justin and I enjoyed some quite time together on the couch … in the a.c. and I feel nothing but happy with how the weekend unfolded. Now … when do we camp again!???

What did you get up to this weekend? Do you have a secret to getting that little one into bed while you camp or do you let them party until they drop? 🙂 I’d love to hear about how you camped, celebrated, or played with your little ones this past weekend. I hope you had just as much fun as I did and I hope you’ll get some extra sleep this week to catch up ❤

2 thoughts on “Recuperating After the Long Weekend

  1. Mommy I’m with you. We used to camp a lot. Back in the day when we had an answering machine our message said “we are out by the pool and when we finish blowing it up we will call you back. Loved your post. It took me down memory lane.

    Like

Leave a Reply

