Time for Mommy · Uncategorized

Don’t be a Cinderella Mom

One of Lydia’s favorite movies to watch is Disney’s new Cinderella. You know, the one with beautiful Rose, from Downton and handsome Rob Stark, from Game of Thrones. With such a cast, and because it’s directed by Kenneth Branagh, I didn’t really mind watching either.

However, now the story has gotten into my head in a different way. Cinderella could only go to the ball IF she got everything done for everyone else. She slaved away making meals, cleaning the house and in the end all she got was a handsome prince … wait … that almost sounds worth it. 😉

It got me to thinking about how I often feel like Cinderella, IF I get everything done, then I can do something I want to … one thing, and it’s not usually as exciting as a ball where you meet the handsome love of your life. (Luckily I already met him, but I wouldn’t mind a ball.) Usually, I’m trying to get everything done so that I can have time to work out, time to get an uninterrupted shower, work on my latest craft idea or write, but I feel guilty doing those things, IF I haven’t washed the clothes, put away the dishes, dusted (just kidding, I don’t dust), given Lydia a bath … given the dog a bath, packed a lunch, filled a water bottle, the bird feeder, the water bowl … eek! It gets crazy when you think of all of the things you need to get done first and then you get frustrated when you don’t.

I’m not entirely sure if Cinderella’s list was as long as mine …

Did Cinderella do it? Yes. Did she still need a fairy godmother just to get her where she wanted to be? Yes. So my advice to you is: don’t be a Cinderella mom. Do that thing you want to do FOR YOU, before you vacuum or fold laundry. The laundry will still be there tomorrow, we all know it’s never going away.

There are some things that we must get done (showering) but it’s okay to not finish every thing on your mommy-do-list. Finish one thing. For me, the thing I like to have done is getting my sink empty before bed. Get that one thing that irks you done and then make time for the thing you want to do.

If you spend too much time doing for others and only thinking about what you want to get done, then you might end up feeling angry, resentful and disappointed. There is no magical fairy godmother who is going to make you a pretty dress or turn your pumpkin into a fabulous car. You’re going to have to take care of yourself (as I’m certain you already do). Remember that you deserve to do something you want to do too. You’ll have to figure out how and when, but you’re a mom, multi-tasking is definitely your thing, you CAN figure it out.

Stop putting your desires last. Don’t be a Cinderella mom. ❤

Leave a comment